ASLA 2018 Professional Award Winners

The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) announced the 25 winners of the ASLA 2018 Professional Awards. Selected from 368 entries, the awards recognize the best of landscape architecture in the general design, analysis and planning, communications, research and residential design categories from the United States and around the world.

The winners will receive their awards at the ASLA 2018 Annual Meeting and EXPO in Philadelphia on October 22, at the Pennsylvania Convention Center.

The following is a complete list of 2018 professional award winners. Winning projects are designated as either an honor award or an award of excellence, which is the highest possible distinction.


General Design Category

Award of Excellence

Brooklyn Bridge Park: A Twenty Year Transformation, Brooklyn, New York (pictured above and right)

by Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates (Brooklyn, New York) for Brooklyn Bridge Park


Honor Awards

Chicago Riverwalk | State Street to Franklin Street, Chicago

by Sasaki (Watertown, Massachusetts) and Ross Barney Architects (Chicago) for the Chicago Department of Transportation



Iqaluit Municipal Cemetery, Iqaluit, Nunavut, Canada

by LEES+Associates (Vancouver, B.C., Canada) for the City of Iqaluit


Legacy and Community: Juxtaposing Heritage and Invention for Duke University’s West Campus, Durham, North Carolina

by Reed Hilderbrand LLC Landscape Architecture (Cambridge, Massachusetts) for Duke University


Longwood Gardens Main Fountain Garden, Kennett Square, Pennsylvania

by West 8 Urban Design & Landscape Architecture (Rotterdam, Netherlands) for Longwood Gardens Inc.


Re-Envisioning Pulaski Park, Northampton, Massachusetts

by STIMSON (Cambridge, Massachusetts) for the City of Northampton


Tippet Rise Art Center, Fishtail, Montana

by Oehme, van Sweden | OvS (Washington, D.C.) for Tippet Rise Art Center


Tongva Park and Ken Genser Square, Santa Monica, California

by James Corner Field Operations LLC (New York) for the City of Santa Monica


Walker Art Center Wurtele Upper Garden, Minneapolis

by Inside | Outside + HGA (Minneapolis) for the Walker Art Center



Analysis and Planning Category

Award of Excellence

A Colorado Legacy: I-25 Conservation Corridor Master Plan, Douglas County, Colorado

by Design Workshop (Aspen, Colorado) for The Conservation Fund


Honor Awards

Extending Our History, Embracing Our Future, Madison, Wisconsin

by SmithGroup (Ann Arbor, Michigan) for University of Wisconsin-Madison


From Pixels to Stewardship: Advancing Conservation Through Digital Innovation, Austin, Texas

by Andropogon Associates Ltd. (Philadelphia) for the Shield-Ayres-Bowen Family


Iowa Blood Run Cultural Landscape Master Plan, Madison, Wisconsin

by Quinn Evans Architects (Madison, Wisconsin) for Iowa Department of Natural Resources (Todd Coffelt, Michelle Wilson, John Pearson, Frank Rickerl, Pat Schlarbaum, and Kevin Pape), State Historical Society of Iowa (Jen Bancescu, Doug Jones, Susan Kloewer, and Steve King), Iowa Office of the State Archaeologist


Willamette Falls Riverwalk, Oregon City, Oregon

by Snøhetta (New York) for Project Partners: Oregon Metro, City of Oregon City; Clackamas County; State of Oregon; PGE Falls Legacy LLC



Communications Category

Award of Excellence

100 Years of Landscape Architecture at The Ohio State University

by Landscape Architecture Section, Knowlton School, The Ohio State University (Columbus, Ohio)


Honor Awards

Homeplace: Conversation Guides for Six Communities, Rebuilding After Hurricane Matthew

by NC State University Coastal Dynamics Design Lab (Raleigh, North Carolina) for the Hurricane Matthew Disaster Recovery and Resilience Initiative (HMDRRI)


Marnas: A Journey through Space, Time, and Ideas

by Anne Whiston Spirn, FASLA


VanPlay: Plan to Play

by Design Workshop Inc. (Denver) for the Vancouver Park Board



Research Category

Honor Awards

Atlas for the End of the World – Atlas for the Beginning of the Anthropocene

by Richard Weller, ASLA, University of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia)


Design with Dredge: Resilient Landscape Infrastructure in the Chesapeake Bay, Baltimore, Maryland

by Mahan Rykiel Associates (Baltimore, Maryland) for the Maryland Port Administration


Urban Aquatic Health: Integrating New Technologies and Resiliency into Floating Wetlands, Baltimore

by Ayers, Saint, and Gross (Baltimore) for the National Aquarium



Residential Design Category

Award of Excellence

Balcones Residence, Austin, Texas

by Word + Carr Design Group (formerly known as Mark Word Design) (Austin, Texas)


Honor Awards

Sustaining A Cultural Icon: Reconciling Preservation and Stewardship in a Changing World, Newport, Rhode Island

by Reed Hilderbrand LLC Landscape Architecture (Cambridge, Massachusetts) for Dorrance Hill Hamilton


Yard, Portland, Oregon

by Studio (Portland, Oregon) for the Key Development Group



The Landmark Award

[The Landmark Award recognizes a distinguished landscape architecture project completed between 15 and 50 years ago that retains its original design integrity and contributes significantly to the public realm of the community in which it is located.]


From Weapons to Wildlife: The Rocky Mountain Arsenal National Wildlife Refuge Comprehensive Management Plan (Douglas County, Colorado)

by Design Workshop Inc. (Denver, Colorado)



The professional awards jury included:


  • Mark A. Focht, FASLA, Chair, New York City Parks and Recreation, New York City
  • Gerdo Aquino, FASLA, SWA Group, Los Angeles
  • Anita Berrizbeitia, ASLA, Harvard Graduate School of Design, Cambridge, Massachusetts
  • Christian Gabriel, ASLA, U.S. General Services Administration, Washington, D.C.
  • Terry Guen-Murray, FASLA, Terry Guen Design Associates, Chicago
  • Dale Jaeger, FASLA, WLA Studio, Athens, Georgia
  • Sam Lubell, Journalist, New York City
  • Patrick Phillips, Urban Land Institute, Washington, D.C.
  • Barbara Wilks, FASLA, W Architecture + Landscape Architecture LLC, New York City


For the selection of the Research Category, the jury was joined by M. Elen Deming, FASLA, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, North Carolina, for the Landscape Architecture Foundation (LAF) and Ashley Steffens, ASLA, College of Environment and Design, University of Georgia, Athens, Georgia for the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture (CELA).


Complete awards criteria, project information and images are available at

Related Articles